Not a CBA Member? Join Now!
Find A Lawyer Directory
Legal Directory


This handbook is the result of hard work and dedication by many people. The project was undertaken by the Litigation Council, Litigation Section of the Colorado Bar Association:

Britt C. Anderson, Esq., Co-Chair · Peter A. Goldstein, Esq., Co-Chair · Alden V. Hill, Esq. · Richard W. Laugesen, Esq. · Michael E. McLachlan, Esq. · John A. Purvis, Esq · Jerry B. Tompkins, Esq. · Marcus L. Squarrel, Esq. · Elizabeth A. Starrs, Esq.

The Council and the Project Coordinator would like to acknowledge and extend appreciation to all the individuals who assisted in this handbook:

  • All the district court judges and clerks who took the time necessary to complete the surveys and review the responses.
  • The Honorable Luis D. Rovira, Chief Justice, for his support.
  • The judges who provided feedback into the design of the survey: The Honorable Douglas E. Anderson · The Honorable Roxanne Bailin · The Honorable Peter W. Booth · The Honorable Donald E. Campbell · The Honorable James M. Franklin · The Honorable Richard V. Hall · The Honorable Michael J. Heydt · The Honorable Gilbert A. Martinez · The Honorable David D. Parrish · The Honorable Steven T. Pelican.    
  • Laurie Walters who, in addition to editing, providing general consultation on the format of the questionnaires and the handbook.
  • Darlene Emery who gave her time to take pictures at the 1992 Annual Judicial Conference to provide 34 of the photographs of the judges.
  • And the numerous individuals who provided feedback and ideas during various phases of the project: Derry Beach Adams, Esq., Sears, Anderson & Swanson · Diana Blair, Esq., McKenna & Cuneo · Steve E. Ezell, Esq., Melat, Pressman, Ezell & Higbie · Richard S. Gast, Esq., March & Myatt · Glen Gordon, Esq., Buchanan, Gray, Purvis & Schuetze · Catherine Grainger, Esq., McKenna & Cuneo · Jim Jezek, Colorado Judicial Department · Merrie Kippur, Esq., McKenna & Cuneo · Robert W. LaBree, Esq. · Denise Mills, Esq., Feder, Morris, Tamblyn & Goldstein · Barbara Quade, Esq. Quade, Fontana & Bonin · Lewis M. Quigg, Esq., Shaw & Quigg · Daniel Quinn, Esq., District Attorney's Office, Eighth Judicial District · Nancy M. Rogers, Esq., Burke & Castle · Constance C. Talmage, Esq., Colorado Judicial Department · Katherine Tamblyn, Esq., Feder, Morris, Tamblyn & Goldstein · Michael A. Valdez, Colorado Bar Association · Anne W. Williams, Esq., Public Defender's Office, Eighth Judicial District

Heidi J. Huffman
Project Coordinator