Denver Bar Association Member Benefits Governance DBA Committees For the Public For the Media Metro Volunteer Lawyers DBA Young Lawyers Legal Resource Directory DBA Calendar Staff The Docket DBA Home

Other Associations

Asian Pasific American Bar Association

Minoru Yasui Community Service Award:
Each year at the APABA annual Banquet, APABA and the APABA Foundation award the Minoru Yasui Community Service Award. The award goes to an individual or group whose community service exemplifies the achievement of Mr. Yasui, who challenged the laws applied to Japanese-Americans during World War II and advocated for civil rights and liberties for American citizens, regardless of race or ethnicity. For more information please visit
Ralph Carr Award/Scholarship:
The Governor Ralph Carr Award is awarded to a young APABA attorney, defined as an attorney in 10 years of practice or less, who has exhibited a commitment to public service through public sector work or a substantial commitment to community service.
When the Government decided to resettle Japanese-Americans from the West Coast in a camp at Amache near Granada, Colorado, Governor Carr went against popular anti-Japanese sentiment by urging Coloradans to welcome the evacuees. In a speech defending the rights of the displaced Japanese-Americans, Carr said:
"If you harm them, you must harm me. I was brought up in a small town where I knew the shame and dishonor of race hatred. I grew to despise it because it threatened the happiness of you and you and you."
Carr's urgings for racial tolerance and for protection of the basic rights of the Japanese-Americans are generally thought to have cost him his political career, including his ambition for election to the United States Senate.
The award winner will be directed to spend the stipend toward CLE or repaying law school loans. For more information please visit

Colorado Women's Bar Association

CWBA Judicial Award:
Each year, the CWBA is proud to honor all members of the Colorado judiciary at the Annual CWBA Judicial Reception, and honor specific judicial official(s) for their meaningful work. Deadline for submissions is Jan. 1. Click here to contact the CWBA for submissions or questions.

Mary Lathrop Award:
The Mary Lathrop Award recognizes the tradition begun by Mary Lathrop, an early woman lawyer in Colorado, who blazed many trails for other women in the legal profession. Award recipients are selected based on their contributions to the community through their legal and civic achievements. Deadline for submissions is Sept. 1. Click here to contact the CWBA for submissions or questions.

“Raising the Bar”:
Each year, the CWBA Foundation’s “Raising the Bar” Dinner honors a select category of women attorneys who have “raised the bar” in distinctive ways.Deadline for submissions is Jan. 1. Click here to contact the CWBA for submissions or questions.

Colorado Judicial Institute

In recognition and support of excellence in Colorado courts, the Colorado Judicial Institute annually acknowledges the efforts of three outstanding judges - one each for the district courts, county courts, and magistrates. The three Judicial Excellence Awards are presented at the Judicial Excellence for Colorado Dinner. For more information click here.

Colorado Hispanic Bar Association

The awardees will be recognized at the CHBA Annual Banquet and Fundraiser to be held in January.

Chris Miranda Outstanding Hispanic Lawyer: Presented to an outstanding Hispanic attorney in practice more than five years who has shown a continual commitment to the Hispanic community and the principals of the legal profession.
Outstanding New Hispanic Lawyer: Presented to an outstanding Hispanic attorney, in practice for five years or less, who has demonstrated a strong commitment to the Hispanic community and the principals of the legal profession.
Outstanding Corporate Commitment Award: Presented to a company that has demonstrated an exceptional commitment to the Hispanic community and that promote diversity in corporate policies and activities.
Community Service Award: Presented to a nonprofit organization or individual committed to providing services benefitting the Hispanic community.
Lifetime Achievement Award: Presented to an attorney over 55 who has made significant contributions to the Hispanic community. The recipient of this award must receive an affirmative vote from two-thirds of the entire CHBA board.

All nominations must be in writing and explain how the nominee meets the award criteria. Please send your nominations to Cynthia Mares.