Not a CBA Member? Join Now!
Find A Lawyer Directory
Find A Lawyer Directory

Return to CLE main page

13th Judicial District announces Sedgwick County Court vacancy

Commission sets date to select nominees
Applications due 
no later than 4 p.m. Wednesday, no later than 4 p.m. Wednesday, May 14, 2014.


The Thirteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet in at the Sedgwick County Courthouse (315 Cedar St. Julesburg, CO 80737) on Wednesday, May 28, 2014, to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the office of county judge for Sedgwick County.  The vacancy will be created by the resignation of the Honorable Tawna Holmstedt.  The vacancy will occur on April 30, 2014.

To be eligible for appointment to fill the vacancy, the applicant must be a qualified elector of Sedgwick County and have graduated high school or attained the equivalent of a high school education as indicated by the Department of Education, based upon the record made on the General Education Development test.  The annual salary for this position is $25,499 and it is a 20 percent position.

The initial term of office of a county judge is a provisional term of two years; thereafter, the incumbent county judge, if approved by the voters, has a term of four years.

Application forms are available from the office of the ex officio chair of the nominating commission, Justice Gregory J. Hobbs Jr., 2 E. 14th Ave., Denver, CO 80203; and the office of the district administrator, Douglas Short, 110 N. Riverview Rd., Room 200, Sterling, CO 80751.  Applications also are available on the court’s home page at

The original and seven copies of the application must be filed with the ex officio chair no later than 4 p.m. Wednesday, May 21, 2014.  Late applications will not be considered.  Any person wishing to suggest a candidate to fill the vacancy may do so by letter to be submitted to any member of the nominating commission, with a copy to the ex officio chair, no later than 4 p.m. Wednesday, May 14, 2014.

The members of the nominating commission for the Thirteenth Judicial District are:  Jeffrey Cure of Burlington; Kerri Hansen of Yuma; David Garnas of Julesburg; Edward Zorn of Fort Morgan; Jerold Brandt of Holyoke; and Brigitte Shafer of Akron.


Editor’s Note:  Contact information for the nominating commission members.

  • Jerold Brandt, 246 S. Interocean, Holyoke, CO 80734
  • Jeffrey Cure, 336 14th St., Burlington, CO 80807
  • David Garnas, 900 Cedar St., Julesburg, CO 80737
  • Kerri Hansen, 107 South Gum St., Yuma, CO 80759
  • Brigitte Shafer, 27736 CR 51, Akron, CO 80720
  • Edward Zorn, 626 E. Platte Ave., Fort Morgan, CO 80701


There is one vacancy on the commission.








1. The application form for a Colorado state court judgeship can be found on the Judicial Branch website at  You should only use the application that says it was updated 04/09.  Do not use a prior version of the application.  Please be complete and thorough in answering the questions; and, if an answer to any question requires more space than provided, you may attach additional pages for each question at the end of the application.  It is preferable that you use plain white paper.  Do not use a font smaller than 12 pt. and do not make the margins smaller than 1”.

2. You must submit one original, signed and scanable application.  Please do not use any sort of binder (no notebooks, covers or tabs).   Do not use heavy-weight “resume” type paper.

3. You may submit original signed reference letters from up to five individuals who are in a position to comment upon your qualifications for a judicial position. You may include these letters with your application, or have them sent to us directly.  It is your responsibility to ensure that all letters of reference are submitted to the Ex Officio Chair on or before the application deadline.  Letters received late may not receive consideration by the Commission.

4. Attach a copy of your resume to the application.

5. Your application and reference letters should be received at following address:

Thirteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission
Justice Gregory J. Hobbs, Ex Officio Chair
2 E. 14th Avenue, Clerk’s Office
Denver, Colorado  80203


6. Your application must be received at the above address no later than: 4 p.m. Wednesday. May, 21, 2014.

7. Call the Colorado Supreme Court Clerk’s office with questions: 720-625-5157.